top of page

Mud, Muck and Dead Things... the decor of a cozy mystery by Ann Granger

If, like us, you like cosy mysteries, you'll love Ann Granger's Cottage, Ghosts and Ambushes.

Ann Granger likes cosy crimes: little murders between people in good company.

The first Campbell and Carter mystery from one of the nation's best-loved crime writers.

A countryside cozy mystery by Ann Granger !
Mud, muck and dead things... The stage is set !

Lucas Burton hates the countryside. To him it's nothing but mud, muck and dead things. And he's right. When he turns up at a deserted farm in the middle of nowhere hoping to conduct a business deal he stumbles across the body of a girl. And that's just the start of his bad luck: Penny Gower from the local stables has spotted his silver Mercedes leaving the scene of the crime. Suddenly, for Lucas, things are looking very bleak indeed...

Inspector Jess Campbell is on the case, but with few leads and a new superintendent, Ian Carter, breathing down her neck, she's beginning to feel the pressure. Then another dead body is found...

But who is Ann Granger?

Ann Granger, born in Portsmouth on 12 July 1939, is a British novelist and author of many historical crime novels.

Ann Granger, a british murder story writer
Ann Granger

The daughter of a Royal Navy officer, she studied Modern Languages at London University and then taught English in France for a year (1960-1961). She then returned to university to gain a Bachelor of Arts degree, before working in the visa sections of British consulates and embassies in Yugoslavia, Czechoslovakia and Austria. In 1966 she married John Hulme, a work colleague. The couple lived in the Republic of Zambia and Germany for a number of years before returning to England, in Oxfordshire, with their two boys.

In 1979 she published her first historical novel under the pen name Ann Hulme. While continuing to publish under this pseudonym, in 1991 she wrote her first crime novel under her own name, Say It with Poison, featuring Detective Superintendent Alan Markby and his girlfriend Margaret Mitchell. The pair returned for further investigations in some fifteen titles.

Beginning in 2006, a series of six historical mysteries featuring Lizzie Martin, lady-in-waiting to a wealthy widow, who investigates in 1860s London with the help of her husband, Police Inspector Benjamin (Ben) Ross.


bottom of page